Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Late Cycle Consequences  (Read 888 times)

Samblackbones

• View Profile
    • Email
Late Cycle Consequences
« on: January 09, 2014, 07:20:22 PM »
I took my first LSAT December of 2013, and now am applying to schools. I scored 168, and have approximately a 3.62 lsdas GPA (based on a predictor). I graduated with PBK and Cum Laude honors from a reasonably prestigious UC. I am curious as to how badly applying now (mid January) will affect my scholarship/acceptance chances at:
USC
UCLA
U San Diego
Vanderbilt
WUSTL
Emory
I have gotten fee waivers from some of these schools, so I am assuming they are still encouraging applications - just not sure how poorly off I will be. 
168/3.6

Miami88

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Late Cycle Consequences
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2014, 12:55:02 AM »
Not sure - you could go through lawschoolnumbers.com of last year's cycle. Look up people that applied to the school you want, at similar times, and with similar numbers/backgrounds. Generally, applying later in the cycle would most affect borderline applicants. In other words, people with lsat/gpas far over a school's 75% (i.e. auto admits) are probably going to get in no matter when they apply. The opposite is true for auto denies. If you are in the middle, and on the lower end, then there may be fewer spots for you. You will be competing against a larger pool of applicants for less open slots. Its not inherently bad, just more difficult.

Good luck!

Citylaw

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2014, 08:55:22 PM »