Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: South Florida law schools  (Read 2829 times)

LawOwl

• View Profile
South Florida law schools
« on: December 12, 2013, 10:21:21 AM »
Hello all. So I am facing a tough dilemma on deciding where to go to law school. I am a South Florida resident and want to stay in the region so going to school down is a must. I currently have 4 offers on the table: U of Miami (No scholarship), FIU (No scholarship), Nova Southeastern University (half tuition scholarship) or St. Thomas University (full ride). I am heavily leaning towards attending Miami because I truly believe that if one wishes to practice in a certain market, one must go to the most prestigious/reputable school in said market to take advantages of resources as best as possible (alumni base, internships/externship, ettc) and Miami is TOP DOG in all those aspects down here. However, the thought of graduating with a six figure debt is very daunting and I don't know if I'm ready to take on that kind of debt. Thankfully, I graduated from college without any debt so I do have more leeway in that regard than others and working in the public sector is something that has always interested me so perhaps i can take advantage of IBR and the PSLF loan forgiveness program. Additionally, I will not be retaking the LSAT due to personal reasons that will make it nearly impossible to give 100 percent of my effort. So I'd like to get your guys opinion on this: Is U of Miami a good enough law school to justify taking on all that debt or should I settle for the cheaper options and have bleaker employment prospects come graduation. Any insight is appreciated. Thanks!
"I do not shy away from responsibility, I embrace it"- JFK

Miami88

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: South Florida law schools
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2013, 09:18:13 PM »