Law Students > Distance Education Law Schools

Non-ABA approved Test Takers

(1/3) > >>

cobes1996:
Gang,
I am not an expert at this topic, but I just looked up the bar exam pass rate statistics on www.NCBEX.org

http://www.ncbex.org/publications/statistics/

There are several states who allowed/offered those from Non-ABA approved schools to sit for the bar.  Of course, CA had the most, but Massachusetts had over 500 and Tennessee had over 200 take the exam in 2012.  Does this mean that states are starting to become more lenient? 

Feedback would be great. Thanks.

Citylaw:
There were several state supreme court cases that allowed non-aba grads to take state bar exams, but it many states still do not allow non-aba grads. Here is an article of one such case in Massachusetts http://www.abajournal.com/news/article/grad_of_non-aba-accredited_law_school_can_take_massachusetts_bar .

I believe Tennessee has also allowed non-aba grads to take the exam. I imagine if you petitioned any state after you graduated your argument under the Privileges & Immunities clause would be strong, but having to go through a Supreme Court case to get your law license would be a hassle.

Maintain FL 350:

--- Quote from: cobes1996 on November 11, 2013, 02:08:12 PM ---Of course, CA had the most, but Massachusetts had over 500 and Tennessee had over 200 take the exam in 2012.  Does this mean that states are starting to become more lenient? 
--- End quote ---

No, I don't think so, and here is why:

California is not the only state that allows state-accredited law schools to operate within it's borders. Massachusetts, Tennessee, and Alabama also have non-ABA state accredited schools, and have been allowing their graduates to sit for the bar for decades. Therefore, this does not represent a new openness on the part of these states, but rather reflects what has been going for a long time.