Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Non-ABA approved Test Takers  (Read 868 times)

cobes1996

• View Profile
    • Email
Non-ABA approved Test Takers
« on: November 11, 2013, 02:08:12 PM »
Gang,
I am not an expert at this topic, but I just looked up the bar exam pass rate statistics on www.NCBEX.org

http://www.ncbex.org/publications/statistics/

There are several states who allowed/offered those from Non-ABA approved schools to sit for the bar.  Of course, CA had the most, but Massachusetts had over 500 and Tennessee had over 200 take the exam in 2012.  Does this mean that states are starting to become more lenient? 

Feedback would be great. Thanks.

Citylaw

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Non-ABA approved Test Takers
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2013, 08:31:45 PM »
There were several state supreme court cases that allowed non-aba grads to take state bar exams, but it many states still do not allow non-aba grads. Here is an article of one such case in Massachusetts http://www.abajournal.com/news/article/grad_of_non-aba-accredited_law_school_can_take_massachusetts_bar .

I believe Tennessee has also allowed non-aba grads to take the exam. I imagine if you petitioned any state after you graduated your argument under the Privileges & Immunities clause would be strong, but having to go through a Supreme Court case to get your law license would be a hassle.

Maintain FL 350

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2013, 02:44:11 AM »
Of course, CA had the most, but Massachusetts had over 500 and Tennessee had over 200 take the exam in 2012.  Does this mean that states are starting to become more lenient? 

No, I don't think so, and here is why: