Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: NYLS or Retake??  (Read 1120 times)

sixburgh

• View Profile
    • Email
NYLS or Retake??
« on: May 30, 2013, 03:26:04 PM »
Hi all,

I graduated from from a Big East undergrad in 2012 with a 3.68 GPA (BA in political science/minor in history). Along with some decent softs, I have good work and internship experiences. Most recently I have been working as a legal intern for my county's prosecutor's office and have developed a true passion for the work. 

After taking some time off after graduation, I took the LSAT last December and scored a disappointing 149 . I did take a prep class, but admittedly was not as dedicated to the course as I could have been. Still applied and was accepted with some $ to NYLS and WNEC. While I am happy I have some options, I canít help but wonder what could have been if I scored higher on the LSAT.

Right now I am weighing sitting out another cycle and prepping with a tutor or accepting the NYLS offer ($15k top 50% stipulation). Many have encouraged me to avoid sitting out another year and to move ahead with my education. The prospect of transferring after my first year has also been mentioned, but I realize there are no guarantees when attempting to move up from TTT to a school like Rutgers for example. On the other hand, friends and others have told me to stay away from NYLS no matter what and retake.

I have vacillated so many times in my own mind and honestly do not know what to do, so I am turning to you guys/gals for some help.

I appreciate any thoughts you may have. Thank you in advance.

shoreman2

• View Profile
Re: NYLS or Retake??
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2013, 04:17:51 PM »