Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: difference between ag law and enviromental law  (Read 411 times)

dohyde34

• View Profile
difference between ag law and enviromental law
« on: January 22, 2013, 10:41:39 PM »
I will be graduating this fall with a bachelors degree in animal science. now i am a small town in Idaho and my family owns a large ranch. i would like to go to law school and specialize in something to do with agriculture. what schools specialize in Ag law or is there not much a difference between Ag and environmental law? i would not go east of the Rockies. any help is appreciated.   

jack24

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: difference between ag law and enviromental law
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2013, 11:15:01 AM »
I'm no expert, but I have a couple friends who have gone into evironmental, ag, and water law.   They all gained experience and opportunities through internships.    So my advice would be to go to a school that is near a lot of employers who might be hiring environmental attorneys.  Then do everything you can to get an internship and gain some real experience.

Looking for a law school specialty is usually a bad decision.   You need to focus on which schools have the most agriculture law alumni.  Find a few firms that do agriculture law, email the attorneys and ask them whether it matters where you go to school.

Also, my impression is that a lot of agriculture law is contract and commercial law.  You deal with purchases and sales, acquisitions, and other contracts.   You also deal with some water acquisition and disputes.   Environmental law is generally more specialized and focused on disputes involving environmental impact.  A lot of environmental lawyers work for oil and manufacturing companies.

Maintain FL 350

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2013, 04:27:38 PM »