Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Class rank or GPA, which matters and which matters more?  (Read 1410 times)

lawlawlaw2012

• View Profile
Class rank or GPA, which matters and which matters more?
« on: November 08, 2012, 03:32:34 AM »
I graduated with one major from a big, research based, state University in the U.S., with an overall undergrad GPA can be rounded up to 3.7 in FIVE YEARs.  My Major GPA is above 3.9, but I screwed one econ class, few GECs and STAT classes for Math and econ Minor with a GPA of 3.4-3.5. According to LSDAS, a 3.7 only puts me to a GPA %tile bit above 75%.

Does class rank matters much when it comes to apply T14? My GPA numbers are Okay.

Thank you!

Anti09

• View Profile
Re: Class rank or GPA, which matters and which matters more?
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2012, 07:38:08 PM »
GPA matters more than class rank, because that's what gets reported to USNWR.  GPA and LSAT together will determine roughly 90-95% of your application, absent extenuating factors (URM or strong soft like military experience). 

livinglegend

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • legalmatch
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2012, 10:08:55 PM »
Schools are likely going to look at your GPA because that is the number reported to LSAC and U.S. News, but maybe some of these schools will consider class rank over GPA however a 3.7 is pretty good so it won't make much of a difference.

Groundhog

• Global Moderator
  • Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2012, 09:53:03 PM »
Class rank is definitely considered via CAS reports. You can look and see how your GPA stacks up against other law school applicants from the same university. As the above posters said, the LSCAS GPA is what is reported to USN&WR, but your relative rank will show up.

lawlawlaw2012

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2012, 04:54:09 AM »
Groundhog, so I am doomed?

livinglegend

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • legalmatch