Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Where and when to apply? alright gpa, low LSAT  (Read 1213 times)

frogs4life

• View Profile
Where and when to apply? alright gpa, low LSAT
« on: November 07, 2012, 09:29:30 PM »
I just graduated with a BS is biology (uGPA 3.35), and received an 150 on the LSAT :(
I have some background being a TA, and doing research in biology and really want to get into Health Care law or intellectual property. Would these numbers allow that?

I'm retaking next month in december, should I wait till after I get those results to apply. Or should I right now and write an low LSAT addendum?

Thanks in advance for any feedback :)

Maintain FL 350

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Where and when to apply? alright gpa, low LSAT
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2012, 12:12:45 PM »
I'm retaking next month in december, should I wait till after I get those results to apply. Or should I right now and write an low LSAT addendum?

I think it depends on whether the school has rolling admissions. If they make the decisions as they receive the applications, there will likely be fewer spots available by the time you get your new LSAT score (which is February/March?) I could be totally wrong, though. Contact the schools and ask.

Either way, I'm not sure that LSAT addendums really help. You can write one if you like, but the decision will be based primarily on your GPA/LSAT profile. If your LSAT is low, they don't really care why. They want to be able to report the highest possible numbers.

frogs4life

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2012, 11:50:10 AM »
hmmm okay, thanks for the advice! The vast majority of the schools have rolling admissions, so it would be most beneficial to get those applications in sooner. I guess I'll skip the addendum, it probably wouldn't be saying much, anyways.

Am I really in a bad place with my 150? Would I be able to get into any schools?

livinglegend

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile