Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Should I take the LSAT again?  (Read 885 times)

seg815

• View Profile
    • Email
Should I take the LSAT again?
« on: November 02, 2012, 09:56:27 AM »
I got a 165 my first time, and I have a 3.4 GPA from a top Liberal Arts school (the GPA is low, I know, but at my school, it qualified me as cum laude).

I'd like to apply to GW, Northwestern (I have two years of really diverse work experience and a father who did undergrad there), and maybe Virginia. I feel like I'm on the cusp of them. Ideally, I'd like to take the LSAT again and get a 170, but I'm worried. During my first round of studying, I got dumped, alienated my roommate and basically was the most miserable I've ever been. I know if I study the same way again, I can bump my score up, but I don't know if I want to put myself through that again. Thoughts?

eric922

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: Should I take the LSAT again?
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2012, 12:52:09 PM »
Honestly if you are pretty confident you can get a 170 I'd say go for it.  It may be a lot of work, but it will open a lot of doors for you both in terms of school and scholarships. Your GPA isn't great (mine isn't either so not trying to be rude) so you need as high an LSAT score as you can get.  The truth is lawschools will probably only look at the numbers, they won't care if your school was hard or if you were Cum Laude so it's important you get your number as high as possible on the LSAT.  It could translate into better schools, more scholarship money and possibly a better job one day down the road.

Maintain FL 350

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2012, 01:20:56 PM »
With a 3.4/165 you can into plenty of law schools, and even get full scholarships at many.