Law School Discussion

No Pre-Law Advisor-help?

No Pre-Law Advisor-help?
« on: May 19, 2015, 08:03:24 PM »
So I'm a recent grad of a college with basically zero pre-law advising/programs. I just recently decided to go to law school and don't really have anyone to ask questions about applying-or-more importantly-if my past-mental health treatment will affect my ability to pass the bar so is law school even really an option for me.
Does anyone know of any resources that could help me?
Thanks!
-CL

loki13

• Exterminate all rational thought.
    • View Profile
Re: No Pre-Law Advisor-help?
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2015, 07:00:58 AM »
CLilly,

First, many (if not all) pre-law advisors don't know what they're talking about. Remember that. Because I paid attention to my pre-law advisor (who, in turn, asked for advice from another pre-law advisor) I chose the completely wrong mix of schools to apply to. It ended up working out great for me, but still....

So, briefly put- educate yourself. Ask questions. Go to different sites. There are, for all practical purposes, only two things that matter for your admissions chances. Your uGPA (undergraduate GPA) and your LSAT score. You know your uGPA; if you don't already have your LSAT score, start taking practice exams to get an idea of where you will score (approximate)- this will help you understand what types of schools you will be looking at (reach, solid, safety).

Re: mental health. This should be fine. Remember to separate two things- the illness, and the actions. For example:
1. I have bipolar disorder, and I am receiving treatment for it.
2. I have bipolar disorder, and because of that, I killed a guy in Reno just to watch him die.
3. I have bipolar disorder, and because of that, I have a massive and untreated cocaine addiction.