Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: *****Please read PS first draft*****  (Read 1496 times)

alrussell

• View Profile
    • Email
*****Please read PS first draft*****
« on: August 07, 2012, 02:47:11 PM »
Hey guys, please read my PS and give me any suggestions. This is my first draft.
I'm open for any constructive criticism. :)

I feel that in order to honestly and completely express my aspiration of joining the law profession I must write of my grandmother, Nila Russell.  She wanted to be called “Granny”, and so that is how our family and just about all of Morgan County, Alabama knew her.  My Granny was not the definition of a formally educated woman, but she was quite intelligent. Aside from the typing and bookkeeping classes  she attended at a community college, everything she learned past eighth grade was self-taught.  She always wanted to be a lawyer, but marriage at fifteen years old and five children later, her priorities were aligned differently. From the time I can remember she made a living gaining social security benefits for the disabled who were unable to pay fees to an attorney. Many of her fees were never paid, but she viewed her job as a service to those who were in need more than she.