Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: 2.43 gap questions  (Read 572 times)

Ajax27

• View Profile
2.43 gap questions
« on: August 03, 2012, 10:23:23 PM »
I'll try to keep this short. I have a really low GPA. I am an AA female. My LSAT was 160 but I studied poorly for maybe a week because my family was in a crisis that has since been resolved. I am retaking them in oct and thus far my practice tests are in the mid 170 range.

I will have great LOC's one from the Dean of Students and One from the Dean of Race and Ethnicity.  I think I may count as non trad since I will be 25 when I enter.

Questions

How much do grade addendums count?

What should go on the grade addendum? I have read that you shouldn't make excuses. For me my GPA was mostly the result of me having Bipolar Disorder. I had a miserable year where I failed a class got D's in two others, and withdrew from a fourth. I didn't get good grades in the other four. I basically went through a deep depressive episode which I thought was just from watching my grandfather die. I started seeing the on campus therapist regularly and it was him who first thought it was more than depression. After I understood what was going on I begin performing much better. My last semester GPA was a 3.6 on a 4.0 scale.

I have heard that you shouldn't include Mental Ilness stuff on you admission form but I don't know what else to write. My GPA is not a reflection of my lack of ability. I have also been able to manage my disorder  effectively since my Junior year. 

What do you guys think?

cooley3L

Re: 2.43 gap questions
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2012, 01:17:48 PM »
A 160 is full ride at Cooley. Just a thought.

cooley3L

« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2012, 01:20:49 PM »
PS

Do disclose the mental illness. The bar requires it be known for "character and fitness".

Plus you can get extra testing and class accommodations based on it too.