Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Part-time programs/ commuters  (Read 1303 times)

NicoleinCarolina

• View Profile
Part-time programs/ commuters
« on: March 12, 2012, 01:29:23 PM »
Hi. I am 31, the mother of two small children ( kindergarten and preschool) married to a solo practioner in rural NC. I currently work full-time as a reporter but have decided I am up for the challenge of law school. My husband is very supportive of the idea but due to living atleast two to three hours from any law schools I am thinking a part-time program would be best. My husband has a well-established practice and I do not want him to leave it.
With that said, N.C. Central, Charlotte School of Law and Charleston School of law (with part time programs) appear to be my only options granted I get in. All are three-day per week programs and my intent is to get a place near the school and stay there 2 to 3 nights a week --hoping for minimal impact on children as with my work I am gone 2 to 3 nights a week anyway.
I am fortunate to have my husband's practice waiting for me when I graduate so I am not as concerned about the lack of prestige for the newer schools (Charleston and Charlotte) that offer the part-time programs compared with other schools. Should I be?
Is anyone here planning to attend law school within such a distance from family and keep up a twice a week commute?
I am prepping for the LSAT now but also wondering if I should go ahead and quit my job to focus on preparing for the LSAT.
Any advice?

Duncanjp

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Part-time programs/ commuters
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2012, 02:17:48 AM »