Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Scholarship for european (german) students  (Read 1382 times)

Silas00149

• View Profile
Scholarship for european (german) students
« on: November 26, 2011, 05:40:00 PM »
Hello everybody!

I'll pass my Franco-German Abitur (= diploma from German secondary school qualifying for university admission or matriculation) in 2013 in Germany.
We've got a special program at the University of Saarland (Germany) that allows you to study even if you're still at the high-school. So I'm studying Franco-German law and preparing my Abitur contemporaneously.
If I'm lucky I'll be 2L when I finish school.

I would like to spend a semester in the States for study after the Abitur and I think that I should start looking for a (fully funded) scholarhsip by now.
Can you help me? Do you know any foundation or trust that offers scholarships to european law students?

Thanking you in anticipation!
~ Silas

fortook

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Scholarship for european (german) students
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2011, 07:29:45 PM »
You probably already know this, but law school in the U.S. is post graduate.  There are several U.S. law schools that have study abroad agreements with several German universities.  You might look into the programs at the German schools.  The only two U.S. law schools I can think of that have German study abroad are Weidner and Duquesne, maybe.  Find what their German counterparts are and go from there.  See if you can talk to someone at the German counterpart schools about what you are trying to do.  It doesn't sound right to me, but I don't really know how the Germans do things.

The scholarships, more than likely, will come from your end.  The German schools will know more- talk to them.  I wish I could be more helpful. Good luck.
"Thank you for inviting me, Mrs. Palin." "Thank you for cutting your mullet, Levi."

Silas00149

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2011, 09:20:53 AM »