Law Students > 1L job search

Part-time 1L/2L summers

(1/3) > >>

asdfjkl;:
Not sure if this should have been posted in another board, but here goes. I am a practicing attorney that recently graduated from a full-time program. Despite my pleas, one of my closest friends decided to attend law school at a part-time T4. I am absolutely horrified for her.

I have no experience with part-time programs. My question is: what -should- part-time 1Ls and 2Ls do over their summers? Are they supposed to take classes or intern etc like most full-timers? I asked my friend what her career office told her and I was confused by her response (which I'm not disclosing because I'm curious to hear from the board).

The only other person I know who attended a T4 was apparently told by her career office to take classes over her summers and not to worry about working or internships. I'm not sure if this advice is what she actually received, but I am pretty sure it was incorrect.

Any advice would be appreciated - I'm not trolling or whatever, just a former LSDer returning to the board for advice. I'm sure this might help other students as well. Thanks.

FalconJimmy:
As bad as it is for full-time 4Ts, the part-timers have it much worse, IMHO.

Most of them are told to continue to take classes in the Summer.  It's presumed that they already have full-time jobs, which is why they can't attend full-time.

Typically a part-timer takes 9 hours in the Fall and Spring and 6 hours in the Summer.  So, a total or 24 hours per year.  If they need 90 hours to graduate, this lets them graduate in 4 years. 

So, unless they want to stretch out law school for 5 or 6 years, they need the Summer classes.