Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: GED; law school admission  (Read 354 times)

jjones8479

• View Profile
GED; law school admission
« on: November 02, 2011, 04:09:16 PM »
Hi all,

I am going to throw a lot at you, but please try and work with me.

I am a 24 year old African American male who received a G.E.D. in 2006. I subsequently attended a community college for a year, then transferred to a small private liberal arts college. I studied peace and justice studies with minors in political science and religious studies. I recently graduated with a GPA of 3.15, while simultaneously being actively involved in the community. My LSAT score is 153. This is all good, but I have five withdrawals. No F's, just W's. Three of the W's I retook and got B, B, and B+. All the W's were in my first two semesters at the liberal arts college. The W's are a result of three things. Firstly, when I entered college I literally did not no how to read or write; this was very difficult for me. Secondly, I was very sick. My doctor discovered a tumor on my thyroid and I have recently received the necessary treatment. Thirdly, I was very poor, sometimes living out of my car and not able to feed myself. Put in perspective with my community involvement being top-notch, which I have received many awards from, and that I am a founder of a small community based non-profit organization, do you think I have a chance of getting into law school? In addition, what law schools do you think I should apply too?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you.

Julie Fern

• LSD Obsessed
  • hillary clinton say "boo!"
    • View Profile
Re: GED; law school admission
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2011, 04:59:06 PM »
ged, no problem.

but what going kill you:  posting same message multiple threads.

jjones8479

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2011, 07:37:51 PM »
Ha valuable advice.

justanothersucker

« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2011, 09:40:18 PM »