Law Students > Law Firms

Intellectual Property Law if Not Qualified to Sit for the Patent Bar

(1/2) > >>

FalconJimmy:
I've danced around this topic a few times before, but I'm curious as to the prospects of working in IP if you are not qualified to sit for the patent bar.

The facts are these:

1.  I have an undergrad degree in Information Systems.  I have a graduate degree with an Information Technology emphasis.

2.  For those not familiar, computer degrees generally come in 3 varieties:
a.  Computer Engineering - from a college of engineering
b.  Computer Science - usually from a math department
c.  Information Technology - usually from a college of business

It's not unusual to attend a school where all 3 degrees are offered.  The first two, because they involve calculus, are generally eligible for the patent bar.  Information Technology generally is not.

So, my question is this:  it seems like IT and related issues are a hot area within IP.  Is it realistic to work in IP without being eligible to be a patent attorney?

I know it's technically possible, but is it something that actually happens?

Would be interested in any input from folks with firsthand knowledge or an informed opinion.

john4040:
Happens, though not often.  I'm litigating patents, have tech-related work experience, but no tech degree.

You'll have to go to an IP hotbed.  California, Texas, Delaware, and Virginia are hot right now.  If you have more questions, message me.

FalconJimmy:

--- Quote from: john4040 on August 21, 2011, 04:15:47 PM ---Happens, though not often.  I'm litigating patents, have tech-related work experience, but no tech degree.

--- End quote ---

So, is there a key here?  Or is it just something where you stumble into it?