Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Help!! which online course is the best?  (Read 609 times)

wes

• View Profile
    • Email
Help!! which online course is the best?
« on: August 21, 2011, 02:46:32 AM »
HI everyonee,

I am new in LSAT prep. and am thinking taking an online course. Not sure which one is the best for me. Can any of you who has take online course and shared the experience with me?

Thanks
Wes

jvaugh57

• View Profile
Re: Help!! which online course is the best?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2011, 08:12:02 PM »
I have actually taken 3 courses from 3 different companies.  Here are my thoughts on each.

Powerscore:  Great materials.  I took their course about 2 years ago the first time I studied forthe lsat. I was working 60-70 hours a week so many times i would have to miss a session and review at a later date (their website allows you to recall past lectures). Overall the course isn't too bad and their instructors are pretty responsive.  That said, the online portion of the course is hard to sit through, especially if you're having to catch up with a session after it was held.  Their intentions were decent, but I think that the overall format of the online course leave something to be desired.  I was more interested in online lectures and their format is like sitting through a powerpoint slide with someone narrating.  Also, there is a lot of stop/start.  Their course materials are more than adequate, and with the materials you probably don't need the lectures.  However, if that's youre approach just buy all three bibles.  The one thing I dislike about them is they classify "inference" (most strongly support questions) as "strengthen" questions.

Fast forward 2 years and I decided to make anothe attempt at the LSAT.  (I was working much less this time around)