Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Don't even know where to start!  (Read 871 times)

decado

• View Profile
Don't even know where to start!
« on: April 14, 2011, 10:29:06 AM »
Hi all.  First post here.

I'm writing because I've decided that I really want to go to law school.  Here's my situation . . .

I did six years in the military (1999-2005), after which I went to college and got a BA in English (GPA 3.7) at the University of Rochester, a small, private college in Western NY.  I'll be 30 in a couple of weeks. 

I graduated in May of last year, and since then I've been working in the petroleum industry, a job I got not because of my degree but because of my military experience.  However, I've come to realize that I'm really not going to be happy in this job or in this industry.  I've hemmed and hawed about going to school since I graduated last year, and a good talk with my dad recently made me realize that I should just go for it, instead of talking myself out it.

The problem is, I come from a staunch blue-collar background.  I'm the only person in my family to graduate from college, and it was a hard thing to navigate at first. (Many people may not realize that not having a parent with a degree actually makes a huge difference when it comes to things like applications, etc.  It makes it harder to apply if you have nobody to ask for advice and whatnot.)  Because of that, and because I don't know any lawyers, I don't really know where to start.