Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: How does this sound?  (Read 529 times)

jmorr9000

• View Profile
How does this sound?
« on: April 12, 2011, 01:52:40 AM »
I'm a current undergrad sophomore, rising Junior, and just today I jumped into LSAT prep for the first time. I figured the best way to start was to take the free practice test from LSAC, and time myself like I was taking the actual test. My score, with no previous preparation, was a 159. From what I've read that sounds like a pretty decent place to be in right off the bat. My GPA is sitting a little low for my tastes, at a 3.2, but that's after 4 credits of French to fulfill my language requirement that didn't go so well, and I anticipate mostly smooth sailing (depending on how Stats goes next year) from here on out. Based on my performance in all my major related classes so far (Political Science), which have been almost all As with a few Bs, I think it's realistic to expect I'll get something between a 3.3-3.5 by the time I graduate.

I can't really afford the super expensive LSAT prep courses, so my plan is basically to get my hands on as many real practice tests as I possibly can and start doing those over the summer with the goal of taking it spring of my junior year. Do I sound like I'm on a solid track? And is there any other practice advice you guys have? I'd like to try and get that 159 up to a high 160 somethin' or I mean, maybe even something round 170 (a boy can dream).

I have no illusions about getting into a T-14 or anything, but would a top 50ish school be a reasonable goal with a 3.3-3.5 GPA and a 160-170 LSAT score?

In general just wanted to say Hi and ask for any advice you guys might have. Thanks!

MikePing

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • Law School Information
    • Email
Re: How does this sound?
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2011, 12:20:02 PM »