Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: 32 year old -- journalist turned PR professional  (Read 1194 times)

syracuse32

• View Profile
    • Email
32 year old -- journalist turned PR professional
« on: January 17, 2011, 12:47:20 PM »
I'm a soon-to-be 33 year old who has long considered going to law school. I was a broadcast journalist in a local television market for about ten years and recently made the transition to public relations, currently making in the mid-60s. I have no student debt; although I'm close to finishing a masters degree in Media Management, which I'm paying for out of pocket, as I go along course by course.

I'm now realizing public relations is not as rewarding as I thought it was going to be. In fact, I've been down right miserable. I am now seriously considering pursuing a JD. The biggest factor, of course, that is holding me back is the debt load and my age. My partner just finished law school and is working at a very good firm. I'm having trouble deciding what to do. I certainly don't want years more to go by and I'm sitting wondering what if?

Thoughts?

Hamilton

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: 32 year old -- journalist turned PR professional
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2011, 01:43:21 PM »
What's your undergrad GPA?  That will be a big factor on what type of school you get into, or if you can get into a school. 

Me, I'm a big voice AGAINST law school except for certain circumstances, which include (1) a burning desire to be a lawyer, (2) high ranked law school, (3) very good scholarship, AND (4) taking on very little debt.  IMO have ing an "interest" in being a lawyer is a FAR cry from really having a desire to be a lawyer - pursuing law as an "interest" could be a huge financial mistake.  Are you prepared to go $100K in non-dischargable loans?