Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Fustrated, confused and I have questions  (Read 890 times)

havoc61187

• View Profile
    • Email
Fustrated, confused and I have questions
« on: January 07, 2011, 04:45:18 AM »
Hey all,

I just finished my last semester of undergrad at NYU, and I am a bit dissapointed with my preformance. I transfered from Nassau Community College with a 3.45 GPA, I graduated NYU's school of education with a 3.195 GPA (it game up from a 2.6). My first question is that will the law school that I want to go to compute a new GPA based on my community college GPA and NYU's GPA? My second question is that, does the name of my school make up for an avarage GPA? My third question is that do you think I can get into  Hofstra Law School, UCLA or even ST Johns with this GPA? My last question is does the fact that I am an education major help me stand out?

Thank You for your help
 :)

Thane Messinger

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Fustrated, confused and I have questions
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2011, 04:09:20 PM »
I just finished my last semester of undergrad at NYU, and I am a bit dissapointed with my preformance. I transfered from Nassau Community College with a 3.45 GPA, I graduated NYU's school of education with a 3.195 GPA (it game up from a 2.6). My first question is that will the law school that I want to go to compute a new GPA based on my community college GPA and NYU's GPA? My second question is that, does the name of my school make up for an avarage GPA? My third question is that do you think I can get into  Hofstra Law School, UCLA or even ST Johns with this GPA? My last question is does the fact that I am an education major help me stand out?

Havoc -

I'm reviewing a manuscript by a veteran law professor who addresses this topic.  He served on admissions committees, and offers a number of critical points.