Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Recent PharmD grad wanting to add JD  (Read 5376 times)

pharmd2010

• View Profile
    • Email
Recent PharmD grad wanting to add JD
« on: November 17, 2010, 12:58:43 AM »
Evening all.  Looking for a few opinions here.  I am a recent PharmD graduate and am currently working as a Pharmacist for a major retail pharmacy chain.  I started developing an interest in law school in my last two years of pharmacy school.  I am quite interested in pharmacy practice type law and have at least a passing interest in corporate representation.  I am interested to see if anybody out there has looked into the PharmD/JD combination.  Is there much demand out there for someone with those credentials?  I also keep reading that law school ranking is important when entering the job market, does anybody know how much impact a school's ranking really has on the ability to land a decent job?  I'm sure I'll have more questions later as I dig deeper into the idea of going back to school.  Any insight the collective may be able to provide would be most helpful.

Hamilton

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Recent PharmD grad wanting to add JD
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2010, 06:13:11 AM »
Disclaimer, I am generally a voice against going to law school unless you are going to a high-ranked school, getting a good scholarship and have a burning passion to be a lawyer.  Rankings/school reputation do matter, that is fact - regardless of going for a biglaw job or not.  Right now the legal market is difficult - do your homework.  Law schools are pumping out record numbers of JDs, law firms are laying off lawyers - do the mah.  Also, law is no guarantee of a 6 figure salary, at this point law school is becoming a glorified trade school.  Finally cost - a JD will generally cost over $100K in tuition and books.  It is a terribly high price to pay in dollars, sweat and tears to satisfy an interest that has developed.