Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Can law students be hired to research case law?  (Read 1242 times)

MedicOne

• View Profile
    • Email
Can law students be hired to research case law?
« on: September 20, 2010, 10:54:40 PM »

Please delete if this is an inappropriate subject.  I am not soliciting for services, but I do have a question and this looked like a good forum to ask.

I have a family law case currently in the courts (Texas Family Law).  I have an attorney, it is cost prohibitive to have him research for hours in case law for some specific information.  Would it be possible to hire a 2L/3L student to do the research?  As a nonlegal professional, I find it difficult at best to find the specific information.  Essentially, I'm trying to avoid a paying a huge legal bill for something that has already been debated in a previous case.

There would be no expectations of privacy or legal opinions, just a list of cases that have dealt with the subject/opinions in previous cases.

Again, thank you, and my apologies if this is too off topic.

.Chuck

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • Free LSAT Logical Reasoning Question-Type Finder utility
Re: Can law students be hired to research case law?
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2010, 01:37:10 PM »

Researching, looking up, reading and compiling case law, statutes, etc. does not require a license. 

Better question is why isn't your lawyer doing it (or why doesn't he have staff to do it) since that is part of his job that you hired him to and are presumably paying him to do.