Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Quick question.  (Read 883 times)

Obliterati

• View Profile
Quick question.
« on: August 16, 2010, 11:36:27 PM »
Sup guys, new to the forum. 

I'm an incoming college freshman, and I'm set on becoming a Lawyer when I get older. I'm planning on majoring in Philosophy, I started an internship etc. What I'm saying is I'm very excited about Law School and my future career.
I looked over the other thread with the kid in the same situation as me, looking to start studying for the LSATs 4 years from now, and I wanted to know what you guys would think an appropriate time to start studying would be. I already have my Kaplan book and I did a little bit of it, but I feel like I might burn myself out even with very sporadic studying.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

marcus-aurelius

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Quick question.
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2010, 08:18:37 AM »
The two biggest items in admissions is GPA and LSAT score.  I would try to focus on maintaing a 4.0 GPA, or as close to it for your first two years.  SOmetime during your third year, I would drop from 15 credits down to 12 for a semester, lower the amount of hours you work/intern if possible, and focus for 4-6 months on school and prep work.

marcus-aurelius

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2010, 01:53:03 PM »
One more thing I though of.  With my experience, I would suggest taking the June test.  You can start prepping in January while you have no class.  And you can finish up the same way.  Just my 2 cents

Jeffort

• Sr. Citizen
  • LSAT Tutor
    • View Profile
    • LSAT Discussion - Free LSAT Logical Reasoning Question Type Finder Utility
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2010, 08:44:58 PM »
  for the most part except for starting serious LSAT prep during your 2nd year of UG.  You can and should wait until bare minimum 3rd year to start going hard core with dedicated LSAT prep and practice.