Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: 3.69 / 166 / midwest? south? suggestions?  (Read 465 times)

chrisnashville

• View Profile
3.69 / 166 / midwest? south? suggestions?
« on: July 01, 2010, 03:05:09 PM »
- My LSAT (166) score jumped about 6 points from my PT average. I imagine I could re-take in October and see if I couldn't get a few more questions closer to a 170 - I didn't study much after my 40 hours / freelance work / week.

- I went to a public UG that averages a 151 LSAT, grabbed a 3.69 in journalism (well-regarded j-school, but journalism nonetheless). Been out of school working past 3 years (will be 4 by Fall '11) in the news industry. That said, where ought I be looking?

I want to work in Nashville or Cincinnati if I can help it.
Midwest/South otherwise. Not too interested in moving Northeast or out West. Particularly not looking to rack up the debt..

- I'm a Tennessee resident. UT-K has very low in-state, and my score ought to get me some more cash. That's a big plus.
- lawschoolpredictor.com seems to think I have a shot at schools in the lower half of the T14/20, but a glance at LSN seems to think otherwise (or, at least, a lot of WLs). I'll likely apply to Vanderbilt, Notre Dame and WUSL, and maybe Northwestern...
- Ohio State / Cincinnati / IU-Bloomington also are on my radar.

Any others I should consider? Ones I should cut? Just like a little advice before I start the application process.

BikePilot

• Sr. Citizen
    • AOL Instant Messenger - joshthebikepilot
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: 3.69 / 166 / midwest? south? suggestions?
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2010, 05:11:56 PM »
I think you should particularly consider TN and OH schools, often schools outside the T14 are able to place much better locally than nationally and often secondary markets hiring particularly from local schools.   

I'd say apply and see what happens.