Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: W&L Apartment for Incoming 1L  (Read 289 times)

mdd

• View Profile
    • Email
W&L Apartment for Incoming 1L
« on: June 28, 2010, 03:05:46 PM »
Hey everyone,

I used to post on LSD all the time, but I've since graduated and moved.  Anyway, I promised the landlady of the apartment where I lived all three years at W&L law that I would help her out finding a new tenant if she ever needed it.  The most recent tenant, who found the apartment from my post on LSD 2 years ago when I graduated and was helping her out back then, is now moving on also.  I sent her a deposit in May before the August when I moved in, having never visited the apartment, and now, in hindsight, it was a huge stroke of luck.  Anyway, it's an exceptional deal and almost impossible to beat; when I was there she charged me $550/month (2005 - 2008) and has only raised the rent to $600/month since 2008, and told me she would keep it at that; this includes:

Pros:

-2 (big) bedrooms, full bath, full kitchen, big living room

-All utilities, satellite TV, parking, etc. included in the cost of rent (except for a landline phone line if you need one)

-9 month lease, with no requirement to stay in summer, but the option to do so if you wish.  She even let me keep all my stuff that I didn't need to bring with me over the summer

-All furniture, tables, silverware, plates, access to her washer/dryer, TV (with DirecTV included), dressers, etc. and all of good quality. (she said she is getting new furniture this summer for the apartment.  When I first moved in, she said "All you need to bring are your books" and I thought she was kidding, but she wasn't -- she had everything set up, down to fresh, clean linens and towels, nice dinnerware, it was amazing)

-Seclusion, quiet, and a beautiful location

-She never once raised rent on me, and apparently, hasn't raised the rent on the tenant who took the apartment after me since he moved in.

Cons: