Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Duquesne Law vs. Widener Law vs. Wait  (Read 3880 times)

PAStudent 2010

• View Profile
Duquesne Law vs. Widener Law vs. Wait
« on: June 22, 2010, 11:23:39 AM »
I am a student who attended a small private undergraduate institution in PA and graduated with a 3.8 overall GPA, 3 internships (large finance firm, large accounting firm, private equity), various awards / memberships / positions, yet scored low on the LSAT (153). 

At this point I have been accepted to Duquesne Law as well as Widener Law (Harrisburg).  It is my goal to one day practice corporate law (firm or in-house counsel), most likely near a metropolitan area.  I am now choosing between one of the two schools or working for one year at most (as an Accountant) and reapplying with work experience besides internships.

My first question is which would be the better choice (Duquesne or Widener)?

My second question is between the two, will I be able to be successful in finding a job in corporate law with a salary high enough to pay off any student loan debt? (This is NOT saying I want to get rich by becoming an attorney, but rather get a job which will pay enough to cover student loans over a number of years and still be able to support a family sometime in the future).

My third question is would be be helpful in any way to wait one year and work / would it even make a difference in applying to schools?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

bigs5068

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Duquesne Law vs. Widener Law vs. Wait
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2010, 12:39:48 PM »