Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: new to the law school path...  (Read 527 times)

pinkedelweiss

• View Profile
    • Email
new to the law school path...
« on: May 08, 2010, 12:45:46 PM »
Hi everyone,
I am new here and I'm in my 3rd year of college (undergrad) and I just recently, in the past few months decided I want to go to law school. My undergraduate degree is in history.
I feel like i've missed out on so many things I should know by now though. I know I need to take the LSAT, and I will take it in October, I am also taking a Testmasters course this summer.
But I am not sure if I am set on international law, environmental law or criminal law. I know, very different fields, but all of them appeal to me. International law- because I really want to have the opportunity to practice outside of the US. Environmental because I started out my undergraduate degree studying science, then I discovered that although science interests me, I prefer to study the history and sociology aspects of how science affects society. So, I feel like environmental law would be perfect considering I have this interest. And criminal law, well that's been one of my dreams since I was a kid..
Anyway...I am confused about whether the law school I choose to go to will limit the kind of law I will be able to specialize in? I have no idea how this works at all, and I haven't been able to find an answer to my question by googling it..All the info I find is so general!
When do I need to choose the type of law I want to study, and is it even possible to get a law degree in the US that can be useful overseas??
I would really appreciate some links that explain some of this since I haven't been able to find any...

Thane Messinger

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: new to the law school path...
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2010, 04:27:46 AM »