Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: A Fools Errand? College dropout trying to make good 4 yrs later (2.06 gpa)  (Read 1411 times)

Redux2010

• View Profile
Hi All,

Short & Long Version:

Short Version:

I was a wreck in college, didn't care, left school with a crappy 2.06 gpa and 6 credits shy of diploma. Fast forward 4 years I am a successful business owner, soon to be married, and have been interested in law school since 2009. Considering going to community college for 1.5 years to boost ugrad cumulative GPA, then return to original college to complete degrees (would qualify for dual degrees at that point). Concurrently would be continuing to study for LSAT. Success means law school, failure means decent undergraduate degree or saving the money that college would have cost.

Long Version:
I was hoping for some advice on my situation. Once upon a time I was a double degree major (liberal arts) student  who did ok within his majors (3.3 in each) but did not give a care about any class outside of  that leading to an abysmal cumulative GPA of 2.06 (yea that number is accurate) and an academic record peppered with Withdrawals from classes, F's, Incompletes, (2) academic dismissals and re-admittances (over the course of 5 years). One would think reflected drug abuse, psychological problems, etc but in fact was due to nothing more than my lack of caring (or more specifically I was selfish, unmotivated, shortsighted and stupid). Now upon my “graduation” I learned I was 6 credits shy  (2 very specific courses outside of my concentrations) of qualifying for my diploma, I made the choice to not complete those requirements and have not technically graduated.