Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Law School should be approached with caution  (Read 15158 times)

cvtheis

Law School should be approached with caution
« on: May 04, 2010, 04:31:13 PM »
Do your homework before committing to law school.  I graduated from Cooley in top 20%, there are no legal jobs out there and law schools are pumping out record numbers of JDs.  Very critically look into a school before you decide to go to law school.  Ask yourself if there is REALLY going to be a payoff when you put yourself $100K in debt and may have a very difficult time paying it off?  Check out blogs to get some perspective on non-Tier 1 law schools.  Don't be afraid to give up on the dream if pursuing it could be the biggest mistake of your life.

the white rabbit

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Law School should be approached with caution
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2010, 10:37:52 PM »
Do your homework before committing to law school.  I graduated from Cooley in top 20%, there are no legal jobs out there and law schools are pumping out record numbers of JDs.  Very critically look into a school before you decide to go to law school.  Ask yourself if there is REALLY going to be a payoff when you put yourself $100K in debt and may have a very difficult time paying it off?  Check out blogs to get some perspective on non-Tier 1 law schools.  Don't be afraid to give up on the dream if pursuing it could be the biggest mistake of your life.

Advance notice, the reaction around here is going to be that it's your fault for not finding employment and not your school's.  I neither agree nor disagree with this position, but I do suggest that you exhaustively detail what efforts you took to find employment.
Mood: Tired but cheerful.  :)

cooleylawstudent

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2010, 11:13:43 PM »