Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Canadian w/ work experience applying to American Schools  (Read 2514 times)

xenon

• View Profile
Canadian w/ work experience applying to American Schools
« on: April 05, 2010, 06:04:05 PM »
Hi all,

A few question that I'm hoping the helpful folks on this forum will be able to help me with. I'm currently working in industry in Corporate Strategy of a large telco.  I've been giving serious thought to law school lately (with the ultimate goal of politics).

About myself:
I went to UBC and hold a BASc in Electrical and Comp engineering, and a BA in Economics.

I've been working for 3 years and just turned 26.

My grades in university in started out mediocre in the first couple of years with about a 3.0 (calculated out of 4.0) gpa.  I finished strong in my last three years with about a 3.8 gpa.  Are most law school admissions in the US (or Canada for that matter) calculated on cumulative basis? Is more weight placed on later years.

My question is, given this background and the assumption that I kill my LSAT, what is the best tier of US (or Canadian) school I can get into?

Thank you for reading.

MorningStar

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Canadian w/ work experience applying to American Schools
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2010, 08:46:52 PM »
First off, I'm not sure why you'd leave out your cumulative GPA.  Yes, that's far and away the most important factor (though an upward trend can't hurt).  You also mention -   First couple of years + last 3 years, you did your UG in 5+ years?

Your question is obscenely vague.  If you get a 178 and have, say, a 3.6ish engineering degree you've got a shot at any law school in the US or Canada.  If your heart is set on UofT in Canada and T-20 in the US and you indeed have a 3.6ish, aim for a 167-168+ LSAT and you should be good.

nerfco

• Sr. Citizen
  • U.Chi '10
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2010, 05:13:49 PM »