Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Addendum  (Read 789 times)

razzie

• View Profile
    • Email
Addendum
« on: January 28, 2010, 03:16:53 PM »
I am a non-traditional student with an sordid and strange history: At the age of 16 I was involved in a car accident which resulted in suffering a traumatic brain injury. From that point on, my motivation lagged and my behavior became erratic. I began drinking and received two minor consumptions and a DUI in high school. At the first university I attended after high school, I was academically suspended twice, received two more minors, was convicted of buying kegs for a party (I was 21), and received another DUI. After my complete failure at this first school (and a 0.40 GPA), I went to a trade school. I was not engaged in the subject at all, but since I felt that my life was heading to dangerous places, I thought that a stable job doing manuel labor was better than nothing. I finished the program at the tech school and began working for a large electrical contractor. After about a year, I know that I had made a mistake and began to question my life once more. I became overwhelmingly depressed and was convicted of ANOTHER DUI. After this third DUI, I finally decided to get professional help. I enrolled in an alcohol treatment center, visited a psychologist (who diagnosed me as depressed-a result of the head injury), and re-enrolled in college. After finishing CC with a 3.47, I moved on to a different university where I have a 3.72. I have received a scholarship for overcoming personal difficulties, studied abroad, volunteered at The Humane Society, served in student government, completed my B.A. requirements for my philosophy degree (3.5 GPA), volunteered as a DJ at a community radio station in N. England, started a PR campaign for said radio station, took notes for a disabled student, volunteered at my current university's radio station, wrote for the school newspaper, and I have been placed on