Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Can't find a job? What about going solo?  (Read 3028 times)

michaelmclees

• View Profile
    • Email
Can't find a job? What about going solo?
« on: September 15, 2009, 07:42:07 AM »
Follow me as I make the transition from BigLaw to solo.  Feel free to comment away, I will answer you.

Hopefully, the blog will ease some of the fears that many have about going solo.  Join me.

http://michaelmclees.com

TheDudeMan

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Can't find a job? What about going solo?
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2009, 10:51:30 AM »
Transition from Biglaw to solo?  Are you kidding? 

"I am an attorney in Texas, recently graduated and even more recently licensed."

Your blog mentions having an offer with a "high volume personal injury firm."  Allow me to let you in on a little secret.... That isn't Biglaw or even close.

Good for you for hanging your own shingle, but don't make it seem like you had many options, because it's pretty clear you really didn't.

xxspykex

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2009, 01:21:33 AM »
You are one goofy looking @#!*.

legalized

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2009, 02:36:45 AM »
Don't see why the meanness was necessary...in an economy like this shouldn't we be encouraging those who go make their own job instead of crying about how there are no jobs?  

Sometimes it seems like some of you get snobby for no reason.

Good luck with your venture OP. Only issue i see is: why does the site sound like you only do quickie divorces?  

And how is it going so far, what are you doing to market yourself and what ways are working best as far as drawing in paying clients?  Are you working out of an office space or out of home?