Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Is there a credit hour minimum to transfer?  (Read 2006 times)

youarehydrogen

• View Profile
    • Email
Is there a credit hour minimum to transfer?
« on: August 31, 2009, 12:10:13 AM »
I am currently a part-time student, and will earn 20 credit hours this year. I would really like to transfer up, but am concerned that this will not be possible due to the lower number of credits. Has anyone transferred up from a part-time program? I can always take classes in the summer, but I fear that by the time summer grades were released it would be too late to apply. I would love to hear any thoughts. Thanks!

xxspykex

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: Is there a credit hour minimum to transfer?
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2009, 01:42:19 AM »
Typically need 28-29 credits to transfer.

scoop333

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2009, 11:02:34 AM »
Transferring from PT to FT is not as common as FT to FT, but it has been done.  I would contact the specific schools you are interested to inquire about the minimum number of credits the school will take.  Ususally there is a max. number of credits that a school will accept, roughly around 30 credits.  Good luck!

youarehydrogen

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2009, 12:56:09 AM »
im sure its not too common, but just knowing that it is possible is nice to know.

TrumpWho??

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2009, 11:51:26 PM »
Don't listen to what the school tells you and apply regardless if there is a school you are set on going to. HLS told me I couldnt apply unless I had 30 credits but I applied anyways and got in. The "official" answer is not always correct and if you talk to a different person in the same office you will get different answers. I talked to several schools and pretty much everyone will take you, especially given the financial condition of some of these schools.

xxspykex