Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Online JD for legal writing?  (Read 2161 times)

binaful

• View Profile
Online JD for legal writing?
« on: July 12, 2009, 09:01:47 PM »
I'm considering applying to an online JD programme... My main goal isn't- at this stage, at least- to practice law but rather to expand my skill set to include legal writing. My question is this: Would doing a non-ABA approved, online degree hinder me in the legal writing field?  I realise that there's a great degree of stigma attached to doing an online law degree and was wondering if that would extend to using it as a professional degree?  I am studying for the LSAT and do have the UGPA to get into a lower tier ABA school, but would ideally like to avoid putting myself further in debt with student loans (I have a grad. degree that I have yet to pay for...).

Any thoughts, suggestions?

vap

• Sr. Citizen
  • Attorney
    • View Profile
Re: Online JD for legal writing?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2009, 11:20:15 PM »
How do you plan to work in the "legal writing field" without practicing law?  The only legal writing jobs (that I can think of) that don't require practicing are professor and law clerk, both of which would require an ABA-approved law school.  Unless you would like to work as a paralegal... but then I'd suggest getting a paralegal certificate rather than a non-ABA-approved law degree.  Firms do not often hire lawyers to work as paralegals.

big - fat - box

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2009, 09:40:19 AM »
Vap is right. "Legal writing" is tied to the practice of law. There is no separate legal writing field.

Re: paralegal

If you want to be a paralegal, you might not need the paralegal certificate though. But if you are several years out of college (you said you had a grad degree) the paralegal certificate might be a good idea.

Matthies

• LSD Obsessed
    • View Profile