Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Teach For America?  (Read 2987 times)

Ms Pac Man

• View Profile
Teach For America?
« on: July 09, 2009, 10:09:19 PM »
Hey guys -

I'm relatively new to LSD and have enjoyed the info, but now I have a question.  I recently received my undergrad and I am trying to decide what kind of grad school I want to attend.  I have been leaning towards law school, but because I'm not sure I decided to take a year or so to try and decide.  I have a friend who just finished her first year with Teach For America and I was considering applying so that I can do something that is interesting and looks good on my resume.  Does anyone know how law schools (or any grad schools for that matter) look at Teach For America? If you have any feedback on the subject please let me know!

Jamie Stringer

• LSD Obsessed
    • View Profile
Re: Teach For America?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2009, 10:35:20 PM »
I don't know how law schools view it, but I implore you NOT to do TFA if you're just doing it for a resume boost. Teaching in some of our nation's most challenging schools is a huge undertaking: emotionally, financially, and oftentimes physically. I really caution you not to use this as a way of boosting your stature in the eyes of adcomms. The kids deserve better, as do you.

/soapbox rant.
Quote from: Tim Mitchell

F*cking bi+ch drinks a 1 oz bottle of goose and thinks she's French

Leverandon

• AOL Instant Messenger - NadoSteve
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2009, 10:20:03 AM »
I just finished my two year commitment as a Teach for America Corps Member. It has been the most challenging experience of my life. I am profoundly greatful for the opportunity to serve as an elementary school teacher in Harlem.