Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Transfer Resume  (Read 4624 times)

;;;;;

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Transfer Resume
« on: June 11, 2009, 09:04:38 PM »
This has probably been covered before but I couldn't seem to find it.

Do you put your 1L school on your resume after you transfer?  If so, I would have 3 schools on my resume!  Seems like a lot.  Does anyone have a good template they could send me that would make my resume look less like a car accident?  Ideas?

thanks.
"Don't read what they write about you, just measure it in inches."  Andy Warhol

lyre

• brightly burns
    • View Profile
Re: Transfer Resume
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2009, 10:23:24 PM »
I didn't transfer so I'm not totally sure, but I don't think I'd include your 1L school.  I took classes at a couple community colleges during undergrad, but I only listed the school I got my degree from on my resume.  If you received any awards at your 1L school that you want to list on your resume, maybe you could put something like "Joe Smith Award for Academic Excellence, conferred by [1L school's name]." 

ToTransferOrNot

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2009, 10:43:25 PM »
Yes, you have to include your 1L school- no question on that whatsoever- it would be EXTREMELY misleading to not include it. Plus, you want to be able to show off your GPA.

Standard format-

University of ZOMG this is where I transferred
J.D. Candidate, 2011
-Bar Association
-OMG I made it on to Law Review as a transfer

University of haha I was too good for this school
-GPA/Class rank: zomg 4.9/top of the class +1
-stupid extracurricular I got nothing from
-another stupid extracurricular

University of Joe Shmoe
Bachaelor in something useless with stupid honors, 200x
-Only put in impressive stuff like champion of the beer pong team
-Other equally impressive stuff like "got out of 10 underage drinking tickets" or something

------------------------------------