Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Likelihood of landing a patent job coming out of a tier 2 school  (Read 1346 times)

vonska

• View Profile
    • Email
Hi, I'm currently an undergrad at USC, double-majoring in math and philosophy. My cumulative GPA is 3.84 and I've been scoring in the low to mid-160's on my LSAT diags (with 164 being my most recent diag). I've been thinking about applying to some joint JD-Masters of Computer science programs with the hopes of getting into software patents. Obviously, given my scores, I probably won't be landing into any tier 1 joint programs, however I don't mind going to either Syracuse or Santa Clara for such programs. My only concern is the likelihood of landing a patent job upon graduating. What are the chances? And if bad, how bad?

Any feedback would be REALLY appreciated. Thanks in advance.

AmyWaxFanClubPresident

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Likelihood of landing a patent job coming out of a tier 2 school
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2009, 01:43:32 PM »
Not great, comp sci is not a highly recruited degree for patent work.  Not to mention that not all comp sci degrees make you eligible to sit for the patent bar.  You should look into that.
"This semester I will plunge you into the slough of despair, and when you are at your most desolate and are ready to give up, I will give you some light" - Professor Amy Wax

Refused Party Program

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2009, 03:29:07 PM »