Law School Discussion

Advice Needed!

Advice Needed!
« on: January 04, 2009, 09:31:44 AM »
I need advice on if I should retake the LSAT or not in February.  I live in Las Vegas and will only be applying to Boyd.  Their 2008 class numbers were

Median LSAT 158; 75% 160/ 25% 155.
Median GPA; 3.44; 75% 3.71/25% 3.20

I graduated with a 3.89 magna cum laude. My first LSAT was 141 and I was rejected from Boyd last year(I know, I shouldn't applied, but was hoping for a miracle).  I went through Princeton Review again and got a 152 on December 2008's LSAT which was the 53rd percentile).  The deadlines for Boyd allow me to take the LSAT in February and still have a timely application.  I just don't know if I can do any better.  It's very frustrating because I work as a litigation paralegal and I draft pleadings, do research etc. all day long and do very well in my job.  Everyone I work with says what a great attorney I would make.  My brain just doesn't work the way the LSAT does.

On the December test, for the most part, everything I "touched", I got right.  I just don't know how to improve my speed, without losing accuracy.  If anyone has any tips for logic games, I would appreciate it.

Sorry for the long post.
Vegas*Girl

Re: Advice Needed!
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2009, 10:40:50 AM »
With a GPA well above the 75% and an LSAT a couple of points below the 25%, I'd probably apply this year.  How is the rest of your application file (in terms of LORs, PS, extracurrics, etc)?

« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2009, 12:12:28 PM »
I have great letters of recommendation from former professors and sitting judges.  I am also an older student (34) and I sit on the board of several charities.  I am struggling with my personal statement because I feel like I gave the admissions committee "the best of me" last year when I applied, so I'm struggling with coming up with something new (I'm assuming I shouldn't give them the same one I used last year).

Thanks everyone for your advice.