Law School Discussion

Same undergrad and law school?

Same undergrad and law school?
« on: December 21, 2008, 07:56:25 PM »
I'm sure this question has been asked several times on this forum before - but I'm being lazy and asking it for myself.  Feel free to point me in the direction of any previous posts...   How terrible is it to get your undergraduate and law degrees from the same institution?  I graduated from the University of Florida, and was accepted to the law school as well.  I have also been accepted to much better schools (Iowa for example)and hope to be accepted to several other higher-ranked schools, but staying here in Gainesville and going to UF would save me, I believe the correct term would be, "oodles" of money, not to mention all the stresses of moving, etc.  However, I don't want to limit myself in terms of job prospects by getting my degree from the same school, not to mention a lower-ranked school.  Does the higher rank and different school outweigh the amount of money I would save?

TimMitchell

Re: Same undergrad and law school?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2008, 08:01:54 PM »
I think it really comes down to where you want to practice. Most schools only really produce lawyers in the region they are in. Unless you are going to a top school with national mobility I would go to the best school in the region you ultimately want to practice.

Ninja1

• ☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆☆
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2008, 10:58:52 PM »
No one will care if your UG and law school are the same, especially if it's a legit school like Florida.

« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2008, 12:34:22 AM »