Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: trying to go to a new state for the summer.  (Read 1710 times)

Em Woods

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
trying to go to a new state for the summer.
« on: December 19, 2008, 12:33:29 AM »
I am wanting to pick up and go to SC for a summer job, as I want to work there after I graduate. I did decently on 3 of my 4 classes, but bombed the last one. I don't even know what I did wrong, I just got my grades a few hours ago and I'm shaken up. I can possibly live there for free with family and friends but will still have to pay bills, so I can't work for free even though I am fully aware that grade shot my gpa. I have a social work degree and can maybe get a job at an agency or something. Should I try to swing that this summer? I should I stay back in the school's town, doing some job there or taking a summer class? Any advice is appriciated.
"Anything easy ain't worth a damn" - Coach Woody Hayes

TheDudeMan

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: trying to go to a new state for the summer.
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2008, 11:20:35 AM »
Where do you go to school? If you are out-of-state at a non-top school with just an ok GPA as a 1L it is unlikely you are going to get anything paid in another location.  In fact, you may not be getting anything paid in-state as a 1L, especially in this economy.

vap

• Sr. Citizen
  • Attorney
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2008, 04:39:39 PM »
If you want to work in SC after graduating, I really suggest you go there for the summer.  Try to get a law job.  Lots of small firms will hire students, though the pay is probably not great. 

Do you have ties to the state already?

Em Woods

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2008, 11:08:26 AM »