Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: 34M, Looking for LS Advice  (Read 2974 times)

opcode

• View Profile
    • Email
34M, Looking for LS Advice
« on: December 09, 2008, 03:46:40 PM »
I am 34, I graduated at the University of Washington, Tacoma campus in 2003 with a 3.0 GPA, BA in Env. Studies. Since then I have been the
CEO of a company with 26 employees (a magazine) which I just sold my interest in. Over the years I have found that my ineptness at law
and contractual wranglings has held me back. I would like to attend law school, for more than just that reason, but I have a few questions.

The UW has a Masters of Arts program in Env. Studies that I know I could nail a 3.5 in across the board.
Would getting this degree before law school help my application? Since my BA was five or more years ago, would my life experience,
letters of recommendation and good grades in grad school make up enough for my low undergrad scores? Most of my undergrad grades were
either 3.5+ or under 2.0 due to a bad divorce at a young age. MOST of the low scores were retaken, but the UW averages both scores into
your GPA. Wil a law school see this and understand?

Any advice on what to do next? I am unemployed but financially secure for a year or two with my buyout, and want to make the best of this opportunity.

opcode

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: 34M, Looking for LS Advice
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2008, 04:08:18 PM »
Bueller? Anyone? 82 view and no response?

I guess I'll clarify my question... will law schools weigh a recent graduate degree heavily, with good grades, and/or will it help make up for my lowly 3.0 as an undergrad? I'd be doing the graduate degree both for experience and to have a better LS application. Has anyone here done a grad degree before LS and did it help?

archival

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
    • intj
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2008, 04:18:00 PM »
Has anyone here done a grad degree before LS and did it help?

Yes.  No.