Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: No Job and VERY worried  (Read 2787 times)

RUMike

• Sr. Citizen
  • I switched it up with a self tar.
    • AOL Instant Messenger - Mike101985
    • View Profile
No Job and VERY worried
« on: November 03, 2008, 10:34:59 PM »
Hey all, I used to post here before 1L, and obviously law school got in the way, but here it goes.

I'm a 2L at a top 30 school in the middle of the class. I had an internship this summer that was pretty prestigious (was one of the few 1Ls and they were mostly also from T1s, it was paid, and I have a lot of experience to talk about on interviews). I graduated with high honors from a top public that is pretty respected in my target market, along with my law school.

I had 18 OCI interviews for early interview, (most were with NJ firms, and I don't think many other students chose them, thus why I think I got the spots) and got a WHOPPING one callback from which I haven't heard (and I have contacted them and no one got back to me).

I had 6 interviews for fall OCI. 3 dings, another one didn't get back to me since september (presumed ding). Two callbacks, one ding. The other should have gotten back to me already, although they also haven't contacted a classmate yet.

Started emailing and faxing on my own. I did get an interview through that, but they told me they only take one intern and I am VERY worried.

I don't know what to do. I'm thinking about starting to apply across the country but have no rational ties anywhere besides NYC/NJ, maybe Philly. I know the economy blows and from what I'm reading here and what I've heard from some classmates it isn't just me, but that doesn't make things better. I never thought it would end up like this. I'm thinking about getting an LLM from a T14 (if possible, and if things don't turn around by then). Any thoughts on that? How about going back to where I worked last summer? I loved it, but it won't pay off my loans full time.

HELP!

jacy85