Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: Need advice  (Read 1366 times)

c-law

• View Profile
Need advice
« on: November 01, 2008, 12:18:43 AM »
Allright I need some advice guys/gals. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
I'm 27 and going back to school to finish my degree (undergrad). The last time I was enrolled in college was 2002 and I had a 3.4 GPA. I'm older and more mature now (wife, family etc) and know that I will achieve a 4.0 for the remaining 27 credits I need. I would like to go to a good law school in the NYC area.
I can only get my GPA so high due to my previous college grades and I know I will probably not blow anyone away with my LSAT score (I think I'll do well but I know my limits).
I have been working full time since I was 18 years old in finance and now law enforcement. Will my work experience and dedication to public service help me in getting into a good law scool? Do law schools empathize with students like myself who took time off from college "grew up" and really hit the books when they went back?
Thanks
C

contrarian

• Sr. Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Need advice
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2008, 02:34:43 PM »
My opinion only.

When applying, stress your higher grades in your more recent time in university.  Hope that adcoms will look favorably upon it.