Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: It's so hard  (Read 2717 times)

stayfocused

• View Profile
    • Email
It's so hard
« on: October 21, 2008, 11:14:36 AM »
I'm a non traditional student and I work full time.  I have to kids ages 2 and 6.  I find it so hard to study, because I don't know how to study I never learned how.  I'm very determined to go to law school, but I really feel like I'm sinking fast.  I just started school and my GPA is 2.75 and I just wanted to know how to study or priotize my time to get higher grades.  Please help I feel so defeated and I just don't know how to study or write papers.  I can't even test good.

TimMitchell

Re: It's so hard
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2008, 11:19:57 AM »
This is a really complicated problem that could have a hole host of causes. My best guess would be your workload, are you trying to tackle too many classes? It would be impossible for someone to give you the right answers without knowing why you aren't doing well. My advice would be to talk to your professors and counselors, I'm sure this a problem they have encountered 100x before. However, if you want to go to law school you'll be able too, but a low GPA is going to eliminate you from many top choices before you even take the LSAT. How many credits do you have so far? Plenty of people have poor grades in their first year so don't get too worried about it, just know that you will have to do very well in the rest of your courses.

Don't get too stressed about it, take a deep breath and find out why you aren't doing well.

stayfocused

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2008, 12:53:13 PM »
 I'm in a accelerated program so I have 1 class every week, but the classes are 4 hours and you have a lot of work to do over the course of a week.

TimMitchell

« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2008, 01:33:54 PM »