Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: DDS JD?  (Read 2500 times)

KZakhary

• View Profile
    • Email
DDS JD?
« on: September 25, 2008, 03:42:23 AM »
Hi there,

I'm currently a second-year dental student out in California, but as time progresses in school, I keep coming to the harsh realization that being a General Dentist is not what I want to do with my life. I've taken a good hard look at my options, and have discussed the prospect of Law School with several people in the field, and have decided to pursue a career in either malpractice, corporate, or real estate law, essentially earning a dual-doctorate degree (DDS + JD). I'll be graduating in 2011, and hope, if all goes well to roll into Law School without any down time. My question is: will having a professional degree (i.e. Doctor of Dental Surgery) be to my advantage in getting into a T1 or maybe T2 school, and if so, is there a different process I must go through? I graduated from a UC school w/ a 3.4 cumulative BS in Biological Science - Medical Biology and a Minor in Economics, with my Economics Minor GPA being close to 3.9. I haven't taken the LSAT yet, and I'll be 24 when I graduate from Dental School. What should be my next step, and realistically, what kind of scores should I be getting? I don't think it'll be worth going to law school if I cant get into a T1 or at the very least a T2 school, so I feel I have to go through this process with as much care as possible. Any other information would be greatly appreciated.

Schools of interest: (in no particular order):
Yale
Columbia
Stanford
UPenn
UCLA
USC
UCDavis

Thanks for the responses,
- KZakhary

KZakhary

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: DDS JD?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2008, 05:12:37 AM »