Law School Discussion

Why am I not progressing with self-study?

*devo*

• View Profile
Why am I not progressing with self-study?
« on: July 30, 2008, 03:37:28 PM »
I have been preparing on my own for a few months. My initial diagnostic was a 151 on an older prep test (the free one on LSAC, December '96 maybe). I have finished both Bibles and found them very helpful.  I feel much more comfortable with the material and my games have improved a lot.  Still, when it comes to practice tests under timed conditions, I am not seeing the progress. I just took Prep Test A out of Superprep and got a 153. 17 correct in LR and RC. 16 correct in the other LR. 15 correct in Games. Comparing my initial diagnostic with Superprep A, my games improved and my other sections got slightly worse.

Should I take more timed sections and tests?  Go back through the Bibles?  I have been very inconsistent on other prep tests but my highest has been 159 on Prep Test 37 (June '02 I think).  I got that 159 a few weeks ago and decided a class would not help me any more than self study would.  I was hoping today's test would show improvement, but I am now wondering what I can do.  I would prefer to not take the class, but anything to improve.

My goal is AT LEAST a 160.  For whatever it is worth, my SAT was a 1230 (80th percentile) with no prep so the 160 should be feasible.  Any input would be appreciated.

meggo

• View Profile
Re: Why am I not progressing with self-study?
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2008, 03:51:55 PM »