Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: First draft of personal statement...comments/critique plz  (Read 723 times)

pnigro

• View Profile
    • Email
First draft of personal statement...comments/critique plz
« on: July 26, 2008, 01:41:23 AM »
Any comments/critique/advice is much appreciated.  This is my first draft.

I would like to say that my passion for law and decision to pursue law school was something deep-seated in my past.  I would like to say that some previous incident from my youth led me to pursue my current interest in law.  The fact is, beyond my father telling me I argued so much I might as well be a lawyer, the thought of law school never crossed my mind until much later in my life. 

I spent the first three years of my professional career as a middle school teacher.  I enjoyed my time working with “my kids”.  During my time as a teacher I was responsible for developing lessons in accordance with the Sunshine State Standards for 7th grade Language Arts.  Prior to teaching in Florida I was an 8th grade Language Arts teaching at The Middle School at Parkside in Manchester, NH.  During my time at Parkside I was on a committee responsible for developing a pilot curriculum and framework for our school.  Our principal at the time intended to present this curriculum to the Manchester School Board for use in the other public schools.  While this provided me with an extra measure of professional responsibility, the highlight of my educational career came when I was announced at the 8th grade commencement ceremony and my students stood and cheered.  I was the only teacher to receive this kind of ovation.