Law School Discussion

Nine Years of Discussion
;

Author Topic: A question for people working in Biglaw...  (Read 17669 times)

luckylady

• View Profile
A question for people working in Biglaw...
« on: July 25, 2008, 09:20:58 AM »
I'm wondering if any graduates who now make good salaries want to share what they were doing before law? Were any of you living paycheck to paycheck, and now you're financially comfortable? I want to get a job in a big firm, mainly for the financial security. I have a big family, and to be able to save and not worry so much about money would be wonderful. People seem to think money should not be an issue when deciding on a career, but when you're older and you have kids, it has to be an issue.

Kirk Lazarus

• Sr. Citizen
  • I'm a lead farmer, mofo
    • View Profile
Re: A question for people working in Biglaw...
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2008, 10:50:42 AM »
T. Durden is correct on most of his points. If you live in NYC, biglaw is hardly a path to riches, but you're still doing substantially better than most in the city. That being said, I think biglaw salary in DC is amazing. The cost of living is not nearly as high as it is in New York and unlike New York, the cost of apartments decreases substantially as you move out of the city (think Arlington, Alexandria, Silver Springs). Whereas 2k/mo will only get you a nice studio in NYC, you're looking at a nice two bedroom apartment at that price in D.C. Also, unlike New York, houses are not prohibitively expensive for junior associates.

Of course, that is getting into the specifics of a market and is tangential really to the larger point that as a first year, taxes will be eating up a substantial part of your salary. In DC, at my firm, 1st years take home, on average, 205k. After taxes, I think it is about 135k (although deductions and exceptions with your big family will allow you to take home more $$$).